Home » Musica Antica » Violoncello » gce001

Geminiani, Francesco
6 Sonate Op. 5 per Violoncello e Basso Continuo (H. 103-108) - 6 Sonate Op. 5 per Violino e Basso Continuo (H. 109-114)
[Opera Omnia - Vol. 5]
Edizione critica

Prezzo: € 159.00


Condividi: Facebook Twitter

Condividi: Facebook Twitter

Dettagli prodotto

Autore: Francesco Geminiani (1687-1762)
Curatore: Christopher Hogwood
Data ed.: 1-4-2010
Collana: Francesco Geminiani - Opera Omnia
Pagine: pp. 152
Formato: 235x315 mm
Rilegatura: Brossura (copertina rigida telata)
ISMN: 979-0-2153-1839-7
Codice: GCE 1
Editore: Ut Orpheus


The six sonatas of Opus 5 are Geminiani’s only solo works for cello, and were rapidly followed by his own adaptation of all six for violin. Both versions appeared in 1746, first in Paris, later in the Hague and (after some apparent commercial chicanery) in London. From the small number of surviving copies (RISM lists only five copies of the cello version, and eleven of the violin), they do not appear to have achieved the high sales of his earlier sonatas and concertos, maybe because of their technical difficulty and “fantastical” style. However since the 20th century their status has risen perhaps more than any other opus of Geminiani, evidenced by more than one printed edition and several facsimile reissues of original prints.